Everyone dreams, varied ones. Some may dream to become a doctor and some would dream to be businessperson, however, there are handful of them who would think and dream that they would like to serve their nation through their driving abilities. Today’s blog is for the individuals who are thinking of to bring in a change, by being the change. If you think you are capable of becoming a truck driver and you are residing in Minnesota, you should fasten on your seat to check out the requirements of CDL.
Every profession has a series of requirements and this implies to CDL as well. Every applicant should meet the minimum age requirements; pass a background check, medical examination and pass the tests on the aspect of commercial driving before exposed to the open road.
Basis Requirements For Commercial Driving License In Minnesota
An applicant for truck driver license in Minnesota should be 18 years. For Hazardous material transportation and interstate CDL driver application, you need to be at least 21 years of age and
Before applying for CDL, ensure you are physically fit and fine to drive the heavy rig and thus, the applicant driver should pass a U.S. Department of Transportation physical exam and receive a medical examination certificate, acknowledging the same.
Adhere To The Norms By The Institute:
Every applicant is required to adhere to the standardized norms stated by the Professional Truck Driver Institute. Minimum standards include vehicle inspection knowledge, coupling and uncoupling tractor-trailers, and driving in different weather conditions.
A Background Check:
As per the Patriot Act, every commercial driver should undergo a background check and fingerprinted to transport hazardous materials. The Transportation Security Administration conducts the background checks for all commercial drivers. These check helps in protecting the citizens from terrorist action involving in hazardous materials.
Varied Types Of CDL:
With three types of CDL classes, you need to decide which one you are opting for with the type of vehicle driven.
- Class A: Any combination of vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GWVR) of 26,001 or more pounds, provided the GVWR of the vehicle(s) being towed is in excess of 10,000 pounds.
- Class B: Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds, or any such vehicle towing a vehicle not in excess of 10,000 pounds GVWR.
- Class C: Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that does not meet the definition of Class A or Class B, but is designed to transport hazardous materials.
The fees for Minnesota CDLs are:
Class A: $42.25
Class B: $34.25
Class C: $27.25
The above mentioned criteria’s were to gain CDL, however, there is a set of duties you need to oblige after you become a truck driver. Paying taxes. Yes, you read it right. You need to ensure you file your tax return HVUT if you are driving on the highway. So come over and file your return if you have used your heavy vehicle for the first time in month of April. You are suppose to fileform 2290 by the end of the May. So come over and file your return online with ease.
We have a set of tax experts to support you, and help you in getting your queries cleared. Do get in touch with them when you are stuck with form 2290. Dial 1-866-245-3918 or shoot a mail firstname.lastname@example.org.